Skip to content

Kentucky, North Dakota Join Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

29 states and territories now members of the Compact; 5,450 licenses issued

WASHINGTON, D.C. (April 11, 2019) –The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) is now active in more than half of U.S. States. Kentucky and North Dakota recently enacted legislation to join the Compact, making them the 26th and 27th state to join, respectively.

The IMLC offers an expedited pathway to licensure for physicians wishing to practice in multiple states. Its mission is to increase access to health care for patients in underserved or rural areas and allowing them to more easily connect with medical experts through the use of telemedicine technologies. 

The IMLC’s application process officially went live on April 6, 2017, and its first license was issued on April 20, 2017. As of March 31, 2019, the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission has processed 3,314 applications resulting in 5,450 medical licenses. 

The following jurisdictions are IMLC members: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, District of Columbia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. 

The initiative remains under consideration in Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma and South Carolina. 

To learn more about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, please visit